The Counties of Connacht in Irish

Let’s learn the counties of Connacht in Irish! See the video below with Múinteoir Alanagh…

The Counties of Connacht in Irish

The name of this province comes from the medieval ruling dynasty, the Connacht, later Connachta, whose name means “descendants of Conn”, from the mythical king Conn of the Hundred Battles.

The Irish for the province of Connacht is “Cúige Chonnacht”.

In this province there are five counties – cúig chontae – as follows:

Co. Galway – Contae na Gaillimhe
Co. Leitrim – Contae Liatroma
Co. Mayo – Contae Mhaigh Eo
Co. Roscommon – Contae Ros Comáin
Co. Sligo – Contae Shligigh

Now that you know the counties of Connacht in Irish, you might like to see our videos for Ulster, Munster and Leinster!

Join the online Irish community for cúrsaí, comhrá & ceardlanna, and follow along on social media @LetsLearnIrish – beidh fáilte romhat!

Related Articles