The Counties of Leinster in Irish

Use this video to learn how to say the twelve counties of Leinster in Irish!

The Counties of Leinster in Irish

The province of Leinster gets its name from the Laigin, who were a Gaelic population group of early Ireland.

The Irish for the province of Leinster is “Cúige Laighean”.

Tá dhá chontae déag i gCúige Laighean – there are 12 counties in Leinster, as follows:

Co. Carlow – Contae Cheatharlach
Co. Dublin – Contae Átha Cliath
Co. Kildare – Contae Chill Dara
Co. Kilkenny – Contae Chill Chainnigh
Co. Laois – Contae Laoise
Co. Longfort – Contae an Longfoirt
Co. Louth – Contae Lú
Co. Meath – Contae na Mí
Co. Offaly – Contae Uíbh Fhailí
Co. Westmeath – Contae na hIarmhí
Co. Wexford – Contae Loch Garman
Co. Wicklow – Contae Chill Mhantáin

Be sure to see our other videos on the provinces of Ireland, and join our online Irish community!

Join the online Irish community for cúrsaí, comhrá & ceardlanna, and follow along on social media @LetsLearnIrish – beidh fáilte romhat!

Related Articles

Irish and Scottish Gaelic: Similar yet Different

The two languages are similar enough that someone who can speak one of them comfortably may be able to comprehend the other, albeit with help from a dictionary at times. Irish and Scottish Gaelic sometimes draw comparisons to Spanish and Portuguese, which can be quite similar and share a high degree of mutual intelligibility in their written forms.