The Counties of Munster in Irish

In this video Múinteoir Alanagh will teach you how to say the six counties of Munster in Irish!

The Counties of Munster in Irish

The Munster province gets its name from ‘Mumhan’, which means ‘The Land of Mumha’s men’, Mumha was a Celtic goddess, and the anglicised English name includes the original Gaelic form, with the Norman suffix “-ster” added, ‘ster’ being a Nordic word for ‘state’.

The Irish for the province of Munster is “Cúige Mumhan”. 

Tá 6 chontae i gCúige Mumhan – there are 6 counties in Munster, as follows:

Co. Clare – Contae an Chláir
Co. Cork – Contae Chorcaí
Co. Kerry – Contae Chiarraí
Co. Limerick – Contae Luimnigh
Co. Tipperary – Contae Thiobraid Árann
Co. Waterford – Contae Phort Láirge

Once you’ve learned these names off, be sure to see our other videos on the provinces of Ireland.

Join the online Irish community for cúrsaí, comhrá & ceardlanna, and follow along on social media @LetsLearnIrish – beidh fáilte romhat!

Related Articles

10 Places to Visit in the Gaeltacht

Whether you’re looking to use your Irish in real life or simply want to explore the most traditional parts of Ireland, a visit to a Gaeltacht should be on your agenda. To help you out, here’s our list of 10 must-see places in the Gaeltacht, each unique in its own way. To make it simpler, we’ve grouped them by counties.

Irish and Scottish Gaelic: Similar yet Different

The two languages are similar enough that someone who can speak one of them comfortably may be able to comprehend the other, albeit with help from a dictionary at times. Irish and Scottish Gaelic sometimes draw comparisons to Spanish and Portuguese, which can be quite similar and share a high degree of mutual intelligibility in their written forms.