The Counties of Ulster in Irish

In this video Múinteoir Alanagh will help you to say the counties of Ulster in Irish!

The Counties of Ulster in Irish

The province of Ulster derives its name from the Ulaidh, a group of tribes that dwelt in the northern regions of Ireland long ago.

The Irish for the province of Ulster is “Cúige Uladh”. 

Tá 9 gcontae i gCúige Uladh – there are 9 counties in Ulster, as follows:

Co. Antrim – Contae Aontroma
Co. Armagh – Contae Ard Mhacha
Co. Cavan – Contae an Chabháin
Co. Derry – Contae Dhoire
Co. Donegal – Contae Dhún na nGall
Co. Down – Contae an Dúin
Co. Fermanagh – Contae Fhear Manach
Co. Monaghan – Contae Mhuineacháin
Co. Tyrone – Contae Thír Eoghain

Play this video again, practice repeating the names, and then check out our other videos on the provinces of Ireland.

Join the online Irish community for cúrsaí, comhrá & ceardlanna, and follow along on social media @LetsLearnIrish – beidh fáilte romhat!

Related Articles

10 Places to Visit in the Gaeltacht

Whether you’re looking to use your Irish in real life or simply want to explore the most traditional parts of Ireland, a visit to a Gaeltacht should be on your agenda. To help you out, here’s our list of 10 must-see places in the Gaeltacht, each unique in its own way. To make it simpler, we’ve grouped them by counties.